Presentation to take place May 24 at UNB, Fredericton 
Fredericton (NB) May 10, 2017 The New Brunswick Book Awards will be presented at a ceremony on Wednesday, May 24, at the University of New Brunswick’s Memorial Hall in Fredericton. Novelist David Adams Richards will deliver the keynote address on New Brunswick’s contribution to Canada’s literary heritage, in celebration of the nation’s 150th birthday.
The event will get underway with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by the ceremony at 7 p.m. Emcee will be Colleen Kitts-Goguen, CBC news editor and sponsor of a new award to this competition, the Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing, named in memory of her mother.
The program celebrates books published in the 2016 calendar year in a total of four categories: poetry, fiction, non-fiction and children’s writing (picture books). The competition is open to both published and self-published authors. 
Several finalists for last year’s awards will be at the ceremony to present awards including Sussex author and fiction award winner Beth Powning, and Fredericton poet M. Travis Lane, winner of the poetry award and a finalist for the same award this year. (See complete list of finalists below)
The book awards program represents a partnership between Canada’s oldest literary magazine, The Fiddlehead, which has nurtured New Brunswick’s literary culture for 70 years, and the Writers’ Federation, which for 30 years haspassionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development.
The first-ever awards were presented at the Atlantic Book Awards Gala in Moncton as part of the 2016 Frye Festival.
The Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction
Judge: Robin Maharaj
Riel Nason, All the Things We Leave Behind
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions
Kerry Lee Powell, Willem De Kooning’s Paintbrush
Publisher: HarperCollins
Roger Moore, Bistro
Publisher: Self-published
Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing
Judge: Helaine Becker
Diane Carmel Leger, My Two Grandmothers
Publishe Nimbus
Jennifer McGrath, The Snow Knows
Publisher: Nimbus
Heidi Jardine Stoddart, Sea Glass Summer
Publisher: Nimbus
The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize
Judge: Jeramy Dodds
Wayne Clifford, The Exile’s Papers
Publisher: Porcupine’s Quill 
M. Travis Lane, The Witch of the Inner Wood
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions 
Robert Moore, Based on Actual Events
Publisher: Signal Editions
Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Book Award for Non-Fiction
Judge: Myrl Coulter
Melynda Jarratt, Letters from Beauly: Pat Hennessy and the Canadian Forestry Corps in Scotland, 1940-1945
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions
Bobbi-Jean MacKinnon, Shadow of Doubt
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions
Roslyn Rosenfeld, Lucy Jarvis: Even Stones Have Life
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions