The 2nd annual New Brunswick Book Awards were presented at a celebration of writing excellence on May 24 in Fredericton. The winners were as follows:
The Mrs. Dunster’s Award for FictionKerry-Lee Powell, Moncton, Willem De Kooning’s Paintbrush
Publisher: HarperCollins
Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing – Jennifer McGrath, Moncton, The Snow Knows
Publisher: Nimbus
The Fiddlehead Poetry Book PrizeM Travis Lane, Fredericton, The Witch of the Inner Wood
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions
Note: This was the second consecutive year M. Travis Lane won in the poetry category.
Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Book Award for Non-FictionBobbi-Jean MacKinnon, Saint John, Shadow of Doubt
Publisher:  Goose Lane Editions
Award-winning novelist David Adams Richards delivered the keynote address. Emcee was Colleen Kitts-Goguen, CBC Radio host, and co-sponsor of the Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing – a new award to the competition – with her sister Wendy, a children’s author.
The competition honoured books published in 2016 in four categories and was open to both published and self-published authors.  This year’s competition drew 46 submissions, triple the number of submissions from the first year.
The book awards program represents a partnership between Canada’s oldest literary magazine, The Fiddlehead, which has nurtured New Brunswick’s literary culture for 70 years, and the Writers’ Federation, which for 30 years haspassionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development.